Recognising KickStart Breakfast volunteers

Chief Executive Gráinne Moss is pleased to announce the 2018 KickStart Breakfast award champions.

Published on
22 Jun 2018

KickStart Breakfast winners 2018

Oranga Tamariki—Ministry for Children Chief Executive Gráinne Moss is pleased to announce the 2018 KickStart Breakfast award champions.

KickStart Breakfast is a joint initiative between Fonterra, Sanitarium and Oranga Tamariki—Ministry for Children. The programme is designed to address the need for increased nutrition and availability of food for school children by serving healthy nutritious breakfasts in schools. Around 125,000 breakfasts are served in 950 schools every week, and more than 25 million breakfasts have been provided since the programme started in 2009.

The awards recognise the schools and volunteers who dedicate their time and effort to make the KickStart programme a success. “Every child needs a nutritious breakfast. Children who are well fed have more energy, can focus better in class, and are more likely to attend school”, says Moss.

And the benefits may be even more wide ranging. “Research released this year in partnership with the Ministry of Social Development showed students enrolled in schools and kura with higher uptake of KickStart are significantly less likely than their peers to have hospital outpatient visits for dental surgery.”

The KickStart Breakfast team received a lot of good quality applications and it was very hard for the judges to choose one winner for each category. In conjunction with National Volunteer Week, we would like to announce our deserved KickStart Breakfast winners for 2018.

KickStart Breakfast Club – Terrace End School

“Terrace End School in Palmerston North is the 2018 Breakfast Club of the Year.
Flexibility has set this school’s breakfast club apart. Senior students act as positive roles models, building Tuakana Teina (mentoring) relationships with children.
Everyone is welcome and breakfast is served at both break times to accommodate students who arrive late. This positive start to the day empowers children to be in a better place for learning.”

Unsung Hero (shared prize) – Lynne Richards and Kerry Farrant, Putaruru Primary School

“The Unsung Hero prize goes to Lynne Richards and Kerry Farrant, of Putaruru Primary School. Lynne and Kerry go above and beyond to cater to the kids at the school and they welcome all the students by name and with the hug if needed every morning.”


Student Champion – Tevita Nusi, Gisborne Boys’ High School

“This year’s student champion is Tevita Nusi of Gisborne Boys’ High School.
Tevita turns up to school at 7.30am and helps to set up the breakfast club. He is a quiet leader and is able to demonstrate his leadership without needing recognition for it. His peers describe him as reliable and responsible.”

We would also like to acknowledge our judges, Hayley Scott (Advertising Media and Sponsorship Manager, Sanitarium), Celia Patrick (DCE Partnering for Outcomes Ministry for Children) and Joanne Fair (Acting Managing Director, Fonterra Brands New Zealand) for helping us this year selecting our KickStart Breakfast Awards winners for 2018.